Holidays and Homecomings

P_20160108_160019_PN

大家好!

I know it’s been too long since my last post. I really didn’t have so many interesting things going on since and with finals approaching, I was quite busy.

Since my last update I dyed my hair pink, watched it fade to blonde, and 2 days ago, got it chopped and got those roots done so I’m a bull-fledged blonde bombshell.. lol.

Last few days was particularly hectic because I was preparing for today, the day I would leave for my first trip home.

You will be in for lots of photos come February though because upon returning to China, I’ll be traveling down to the south!

china-map-index

The blue star is Anshan, where I am studying. The bright red path and the yellow stars are tickets and travel plans I already have, while the orange and dark red are tentative (and might not happen at all due to ticket availability).

The cities are Anshan, Beijing, Tianjin, Nanjing, Huangshan, Suzhou, and Hangzhou. My plans to go to Fuzhou fell through, so I have a lot of time between the last city and when I need to go back so I have options. I REALLY wanted to go to Guilin but costs and time prevent me but it’s a prospective summer trip.

Overall, I’m looking forward to go home. I will be happy to see family and husband.. this is the longest I’ve gone without seeing him and it’s a load of suck.

Since finals were finished on the 5th, I’ve taken more time to go out that I’ve neglected the last month or so. I met Obama… he seems to have a side gig at an eyewear store.. and I found ‘Murican pillows.

I’m not sure why, but Chinese people seem to love the American flag on things… much like Americans like random Union Jacks on every thing from underwear to notebooks. So I get it, but it’s still a bit strange.

I also went to Milk and Coco for the first time since Halloween. These are 2 of the 3 night clubs in Anshan, the third being some word that starts with “Jin” meaning gold. I met one of the Gogo dancers, a Ukrainian named Anna. She’s really nice and friendly… not to mention stunning. (why did I get the only short, stocky Ukrainian genes on the planet?)

Jpeg

I promise I’m not drunk in this. Just tipsy.

My first semester has been a success overall. This is a brief post overall, because I don’t have so much time, but I will say so far things go well. When I’m home I care share some cultural bits like the night market experience and food in general.. OH and don’t forget the magic that is Chinglish (bad English in China). It’s delightful.

But yeah, I made some great friends here from many countries like Poland, Ukraine, Russia, Costa Rica, Cameroon, and of course China. It’s very interesting to be the only token American in a group because I find we are all very different but then again, very much the same. A reminder that people can surprise you in the similarities despite coming from a place so far away. It’s a humanizing thing. We are all people.

I’ve got 1.5 hours until I set out on this torturous journey to Beijing Capital Airport. Wish me luck. I’ve been having nightmares about missing my flight for weeks! I’ll have to figure out how to use their subway to by myself. I’m not so good at this… lol.

beijingsubway[1]

再见,

Laowai Shye

 

PS: Found some X-mas photos I forgot to share. Enjoy!

One thought on “Holidays and Homecomings

Talk to me!

