I’m Back!

大家好!
So I’m back in China. Yesterday I said my farewells to my amazing husband and started forth on my journey back. It was largely uneventful which is always a good thing when it comes to flying. I flew from Toronto to Chicago, then to Beijing. For some reason, the view was exceedingly clear from the plane and I was able to get some good photos of the frozen barrens below. It was kind of neat seeing land that I would otherwise never see, much less walk on.

I was quite proud of myself I figured out how to get the shuttle bus from PEK to take me to the train station, but I was able to ask the bus driver which stop would be closest. Sure enough, instead of staying all the way until Beijing Zhan to get off the bus, I was able to get off at the second stop and grab a taxi to my hostel, Sanlitun Youth Hostel.

This hostel is pretty cool and more importantly, clean. While I didn’t anticipate male and females being in the same dorm, it’s not a huge deal as the guys don’t seem too creepy and mind their own. I’m a bit disappointed I won’t be able to see the Great Wall though. It was in my plans but for some reason Jagoda thought I didn’t want to go so she and Gosia went today already. I could go tomorrow with other hostel goers, but I think I’ll save it for another time and accompany Gosia and Jagoda to the Summer Palace and Forbidden City.

While George and I hit Tiananmen Square before, we didn’t get to go inside the Forbidden City.

With that all said, I should probably sleep as I should be up early tomorrow. The adventure begins!

再见,
Laowai Shye

 

PS: Enjoy random photos from my travel home and time in the US and Canada.

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Back!

Talk to me!

